Martial Arts for Ranged Attacks

azato

This is something I have never been able to wrap my mind around. I can understand that a soldier's technique with a HTH weapon could increase the damage beyond just a simple chopping action. What I don't understand is how extra DCs can be added to a ranged attack. The way the missile leave the gun/bow is the same no matter who shoots it. Thus if marksman shoots somebody in the arm it should cause the same damage as a total novice shoots that same person in the arm.

While I have not started a FH campaign yet, I am trying to come to some sort of conclusion now. I am leaning toward forbidding MA attacks for missile weapons. While I realize that there is no "right answer", I would like to know how others deal with this issues - especially in heroic level games.

Re: Martial Arts for Ranged Attacks

The best arguments are contained in UMA (The Ultimate Martial Artist).

Real world martial arts:

Page 43,

Kyujutsu

The Japanese art of the bow.

Page 54,

Shurikenjutsu

The Japanese art of throwing shuriken.

Fictional:

page 73,

Zen Riflery

The art of the gun.

... What I don't understand is how extra DCs can be added to a ranged attack. The way the missile leave the gun/bow is the same no matter who shoots it. Thus if marksman shoots somebody in the arm it should cause the same damage as a total novice shoots that same person in the arm.

More to this point...

Martial Arts damage, the use of Hit Locations and Find Weakness are all describing the same type of thing: Getting more damage through to a target based on precise technique.

They usually don't overlap too much. (Hit Locations are not recommended for Supers, Find Weakness is suggested instead).

The leap for many HERO players is understanding that Martial Arts damage is also a type of Hit Location specific damage.

Why else does ALL MA damage do 1d6 less Knockback in a Supers setting?

Why doesn't Choke Hold require a Hit Location roll?

etc..