New to Champions and the Hero system...

Dr. Octashawn

Ok, some friends and I have been wanting to get back into roleplaying and were wanting to do a superhero game. I did a little asking around and kept hearing that Champions was the best. So I checked out the site and I'm thinking ok, this looks good, it's been around and there seems to be a lot of support and source material. So here's my question-

While I'm not new to roleplaying, I am new to the Hero system and Champions. What should I start out with as far as source material? Also, if you have any miscellaneous tips for a Champions newbie, they'd be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! :)

Let me be the first to welcome you to what I believe is the best game out there with the best fan base ever. You will find lots of ideas, support, and just good natured humour on these boards and in the people that play Champions and the other Hero games.

What you need is FRED, probably Champions, a good group of gamers, and a very active imagination. Anything else you get only makes the experience that much better.

I will let others weigh in now with their thoughts on the matter.

Most players would agree that you need to pick up a copy of either the 5th edition Hero System rulebook, or the recently released Sidekicks rulebook for a primer on the rules. After that it really depends on where you want to go.

Champions is the genre book for the setting. Basically everything you ever wanted to know about running a superhero game, but more of a primer than an example. If you've never been part of a supers game or don't no the genre convetions (or would just like a little help getting started) this is the book for you.

On the other hand, if looking for world building, Champions Universe presents the in-house superhero world, with lots of background and history, and some characters and plots to play around with.

I'd say those are a good start for anyone.